top of page

What Are The Penalties When Charged With Operating While Intoxicated In Indiana?

Under Indiana DUI laws, drivers can be charged with Operating a Motor Vehicle While Intoxicated (OWI) if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) exceeds .08% or if they have certain controlled substances in their system while operating a vehicle. Even for individuals under 21, a BAC of just .02% can lead to consequences.

After an arrest, posting bond is necessary for release from jail. If the BAC was above .08% or if the driver refused the chemical test, their license may be administratively suspended by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles before any criminal conviction. However, drivers can petition for specialized driving privileges or appeal the suspension.

Penalties for Indiana DUI convictions vary based on whether it's a first offense or a repeat offense. For first-time offenders, fines can reach up to $5,000, with jail time of up to 1 year and a license suspension. Repeat offenders face more severe consequences, including the potential for higher fines, longer jail sentences, and a longer license suspension. If you have been charged with a DUI in Indiana, it's important to contact an experienced attorney. If you need help with your case, contact Brinkley Law today at 317-643-1813.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page